Ask Your Question
0

When a patron logs off a public computer before signing out of her email or other personal account, can a library or the next user see her email or files?

asked 2016-01-14 16:17:45 -0600

library_staff gravatar image

When a patron logs off a public computer before signing out of her email or other personal account, can a library or the next user see her email or files?

edit retag flag offensive close delete

1 Answer

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
0

answered 2016-01-14 16:35:07 -0600

Typically, once the computer session ends automatically or the patron logs off, all session user activity is closed and will not be accessible to anyone logging in after them. In addition, all “temporary” patron files should be deleted and all of the computer’s settings should be restored to the default. That action deletes all temporary data, such as cookies, temporary browser history including form data and sites visited, and downloaded files. Patrons should ensure they manually log off the computer if they decide to end their session before their time is up.

edit flag offensive delete publish link more

Your answer

Please start posting your answer anonymously - your answer will be saved within the current session and published after you log in or create a new account. Please try to give a substantial answer, for discussions, please use comments and please do remember to vote (after you log in)!

Add answer

[hide preview]

Question tools

Follow
1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2016-01-14 16:17:45 -0600

Seen: 12 times

Last updated: Jan 14 '16